City Council New Orleans Louisiana
Home Meet The Council Council News Council Calendars Resources Districts & Maps Video Emergencies

City Council, Mayor Mitch Landrieu, Municipal Officials Take Official Oath of Office at Saenger Theatre

May 5, 2014

Councilmembers take their oaths of office alongside the Mayor and other Municipal officials at the Saenger Theatre

Councilmembers take their oaths of office alongside the Mayor and other Municipal officials at the Saenger Theatre

New Orleans, LA - May 5, 2014 - This morning, the New Orleans City Council, Mayor Mitchell J. Landrieu, and Municipal officials took their formal oaths of office at ceremonies held at the Saenger Theatre. The ceremony is the first of its kind since the renovated iconic theatre reopened last fall. 
Councilmembers taking their oaths for a new term today were Councilmember At-Large Stacy Head, District "A" Councilmember Susan G. Guidry, District "B" Councilmember LaToya Cantrell, and District "E" Councilmember James Austin Gray II. Joining their colleagues are new members Councilmember At-Large Jason Rogers Williams, District "C" Councilmember Nadine M. Ramsey and District "D" Councilmember Jared C. Brossett. Incumbent and Elect Councilmembers were joined by family members and friends at the invitation-only service. 
Immediately following the official inauguration ceremony, Councilmembers will be escorted to City Hall where the new Council will hold its Inaugural Special Organizational Meeting signaling the beginning of a new Council term. The Mayor and Municipal officials are expected to join the Council in the City Council Chamber for the special meeting.
The Inaugural Special Organizational Meeting must be held at 12:00 Noon, as mandated by the City of New Orleans Home Rule Charter. The meeting to be held at City Hall in the Council Chamber is open to the public. (click
here for a map).

<< Back to News

Upcoming Events

5.30.16  Memorial Day

6.01.16  Public Works, Sanitation and Environmental Committee Rescheduled

6.06.16  Neighborhood Conservation District Advisory Committee

6.07.16  Transportation and Airport Committee Canceled

View Full Calendar >

Join our Email List Legal & Privacy InformationSubmit Comments HereSite Map

Information presented by the New Orleans City CouncilMatthew J. Lindsay, Interim Chief of StaffCouncil Information (504) 658-1000Clerk of Council (504) 658-1085
New Orleans City Council | 1300 Perdido Street, Second Floor West | New Orleans, LA 70112

Translate this site: